Metropolitan Opera Laffont Competition Florida District

Judges and Directors

2023-2024 Season 


Cynthia Munzer, Mezzo-soprano, Associate Professor Emerita, University of Southern 

                            California Thornton School of Music

Ryan Taylor, President and General Director, Minnesota Opera

Howard Watkins, Associate Conductor, Metropolitan Opera, Juilliard Vocal Arts faculty



Our official Florida District pianist for the January 2024 Laffont Competition is

Arlene Shrut (



Swantje Knye-Levin, District Director

Joan Travis, Auditions Manager






Competition Volunteers​

Many thanks to

Karen Evans

Fran Falcone

Gina Graziadio

Ginna Leftwich

Carol Meijer

​Sherry Orr

Sarah Purser Bojorquez

Judith Topper

Blanche Williams

and to our Rollins Department of Music faculty sponsors

John Grau

Caitlin Mohr